Seminary Call Day, 2011

On May 12, 2011, after a day of presentations from last year’s vicars and other synodical officials, the Bethany Lutheran Theological Seminary community gathered at Bethany Lutheran College’s Trinity Chapel for the annual Call Service to find out where the new Candidates of Theology, vicars, and teachers were assigned. The Rev. Gaylin Schmeling, seminary president, presided over the divine service and the Rev. Thomas Heyn preached the sermon.


  • James Kassera – Our Savior’s Lutheran Church, Albert Lea, Minnesota
  • David Locklair – to be assigned
  • Michael Moldstad – to be assigned


  • Nathanael Abrahamson – Abiding Shepherd Lutheran Church, Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
  • Jesse DeDeyne – St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, North Mankato, Minnesota (WELS)
  • Timothy Grundmeier – Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, Okauchee, Wisconsin
  • Peter Heyn – Christ Lutheran Church, Windsor, California & Living Word Lutheran Church, Petaluma, California
  • Luke Willitz – Bethany Lutheran Church, Port Orchard, Washington